The series of lectures is named after Karl Weierstraß (1815-1897). He is one of the major mathematicians of the 19th century and is regarded as the founder of the modern analysis. Weierstraß received his Abitur at the Gymnasium Theodorianum as "primus omnium" in Paderborn in 1834.

The event consists of a testimonial lecture, the Weierstraß-lecture and an introductive historical lecture. An independent jury chooses the lecturer of the Weierstraß-lecture. The current jury consist of Prof. Gerard Laumon (Paris), Prof. David Vogan (Boston,USA) and Prof. Martin Kolb (Paderborn).

For more information, click here.