About the formation of the Department EIM

Due to the grouping of the, then 17 departments of the Paderborn University, the Department for Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Mathematics was founded on the 1st October 2002. The department emerged from the former Department 14 (electrical engineering) and 17 (mathematics-computer science). Thereby, the university grouped all research- and teaching capacities, which are significant supporting bodies of the expansion and further development of the information society, into one faculty. The faculty was subdivided into three institutes: the Department for Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, Department of Computer Science and Department of Mathematics. Founding dean was Dr. Gregor Engels, a computer scientist. In each case, a vice-dean manages the departments. Initially, these were Professor Dr. Ulrich Rückert (electrical engineering). Professor Dr. Hans Kleine Bünding (computer science) and Professor Dr. Helmut Lenzing (mathematics). The first dean for students was Professor Dr. Uwe Kastens, a computer scientist. Full-time secretary was Dr. Michael Laska, who held this position until his retirement in February 2016.

Further information :